Oral Health CRC CEO wins Leach Medal

Monday, February 23, 2015

CEO of the Oral Health CRC Melbourne Laureate Professor Eric Reynolds AO has received the 2015 Leach Medal at the 40th Lorne Conference on Protein Structure and Function.

The award is presented annually in honour of the eminent biochemist Professor Simon (Syd) Leach (1920-2005) in recognition of scientific excellence.

Professor Reynolds said he was extremely honoured to accept the award and join the list of past Leach Medal recipients including Elizabeth Blackburn, David de Kretser, Don Metcalf and Colin Masters.

Established by Professor Syd Leach in 1976, the Lorne protein conference brings together biochemists from around the world. Winners of the Leach Medal present the annual Leach Lecture at the conference. Professor Reynolds discussed the journey of scientific discovery that has led to our understanding of the role of salivary phosphopeptides, bacterial proteases and a new bacterial secretion system in oral health.